19 April 2019

Olympics: BOA reveal 2011 Olympic Athlete of the Year winners

December 21, 2011

The British Olympic Association (BOA) has today announced the list of recipients of the 2011 Olympic Athlete of the Year trophy.

The award was introduced in 2005, to mark the BOA’s Centenary Year and the success of London being awarded the 2012 Olympic Games.

The BOA presented a trophy to each of the 33 summer and winter Olympic sports for them to award on an annual basis to their top performing athlete of the year.

Andy Hunt, Team GB Chef de Mission and BOA Chief Executive said:
“British sportsmen and women have produced some truly outstanding performances throughout 2011, winning no less than 50 medals in Olympic disciplines at World Championships. While traditionally strong sports such as rowing, sailing and cycling have continued to deliver world leading results, it was exciting to see our boxing, triathlon and taekwondo squads achieve their best ever medal hauls in 2011.”

To mark outstanding performances in 2011, the following athletes have been awarded the BOA Olympic Athlete of the Year trophy:


Aquatics – Keri-Anne Payne
Archery – Larry Godfrey
Athletics – Mo Farah
Badminton – Imogen Bankier & Chris Adcock
Basketball – Julie Page
Boxing – Andrew Selby
Canoeing – Jon Schofield & Liam Heath
Cycling – Geraint Thomas
Equestrian – Carl Hester
Fencing – Corinna Lawrence
Gymnastics – Daniel Purvis
Handball – Steven Larsson
Hockey – Laura Bartlett
Judo – Colin Oates
Modern Pentathlon – Jamie Cook
Shooting – Peter Wilson
Table Tennis – Liam Pitchford
Taekwondo – Martin Stamper
Tennis – Andy Murray
Triathlon – Helen Jenkins & Alistair Brownlee
Volleyball – Dami Bakare
Weighlifting – Sonny Webster
Wrestling – Olga Butkeyvch
Biathlon – Amanda Lightfood
Bobsleigh – Paula Walker & Rebekah Wilson
Curling – Tom Brewster, Greg Drummond, Scott Andrews, Michael Goodfellow
Ice Hockey – Katherine Gale
Luge – Adam Rosen
Skating – Men’s Short Track Relay Team
Skiing – James Woods

On receipt of their award badminton stars Imogen Bankier and Chris Adcock, said:

“We are really happy and honoured to have won this award, not only for ourselves but for badminton as a sport. We would like to thank everyone that has supported us in this very successful year, with the highlight being us winning a silver medal at the World Badminton Championships at Wembley Arena this past August. We both look forward to continuing our hard work and dedication throughout 2012, in the hope of achieving a place on Team GB for the London 2012 Olympic Games.”

Robyn Rashford, Sportsister
The Women’s Sports Magazine

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Select a sport

Find out how to get started, training plans and expert advice.